1. Anderson “The Spider” Silva

Anderson da Silva, The Spider, was born on the 14th of April 1975 in Brazil, and is both an MMA fighter and a former Middleweight Champion for the UFC. He holds the longest title-streak in the history of the UFC, which ended after 2 457 days in 2013, and saw him take 16 successive wins and 10 title defences.

He has also had 13 bonuses post-fight; the 2nd most in the history of the UFC, and UFC president Dana White, along with a number of mixed martial arts publications, have named him the best MMA fighter in history. He currently stands as the number 6 contender in the official rankings for the UFC middleweight division.

  1. Georges “Rush” St-Pierre

Rush, also referred to as GSP, and formally known as Georges St-Pierre, is an MMA fighter from Canada who has won the Welterweight division of the UFC 3 times: once in 2006, again in 2008, and as an interim title in 2007.

He is often referred to as the greatest MMA fighter of all time, but comes in at 2nd place on this list, as his longest combined title streak is less than The Spider’s, although no less impressive: 2 204 days. He has been ranked as the number 1 Welterweight worldwide by a number of publications, including Sherdog.

  1. Jon “Bones” Jones

Jonathan Dwight Jones, known as Bones, is an MMA fighter from the United States of America who is a 2-time former Light Heavyweight champion in the UFC, thanks to winning in 2011 and taking an interim title in 2016. Although he is currently undergoing a 1-year suspension, much to the chagrin of the punters at NZ betting sites who enjoyed wins thanks to his great style, he is still held in very high regard, and boasted the number 1 ranking during the reign of his championship. He also currently holds the longest active winning streak in the UFC, with 12 fights to his name.

  1. “The Last Emperor” Fedor Emelianenko Ru

Fedor Emelianenko Ru is a Russian MMA fighter, specialising in sambo and judoka. He has won numerous championships and multiple accolades across a variety of different sports, most notably the MMA Pride Fighting Championships, where he took the heavyweight title in 2003 and held it until 2007; the FIAS World Combat Sambo Championship, where he was Heavyweight champion in 2002, 2005 and 2007; and the Russian Judo Federations National Championship, in which he was awarded bronze medals in 1998 and 1999.

  1. José Aldo “Junior”

José Aldo da Silva Oliveira Junior was born on the 9th of September 1986 in Brazil, and stands as the 4th and final WEC Featherweight Champion –which sees him as the first-ever UFC Featherweight Champion during the merger of the WEC and the UFC. He also won the Featherweight Champion division of the UFC twice, and was named Sherdog’s Fighter of the Year in 2009.

He currently stands as number 2 in the Featherweight Division worldwide and is ranked as number 7 pound-for-pound by Sherdog. In the ten years spanning from November of 2005 through to December of 2015, he stood undefeated in 18 fights, and is hailed by many as the top fighter ever in his weight division.